• Post author:
  • Post last modified:August 23, 2022

The importance of awards in the hotel and the hospitality industry cannot be underestimated. In this post, we have compiled a few of the most prestigious hospitality awards.

We all love recognition; don’t we? Today, hotel awards are increasingly difficult to win, which implies that they are more coveted.

An award in the hospitality industry represents an independent and public acknowledgement of a hospitality company’s effort to produce consistent and high-quality service across the board from the processes of checking in and out, to the services offered to guests.

Awards and prestigious ones, allow hospitality companies to nurture repeat business and maintain a solid reputation in the industry.

In truth, there is no honour greater than hosting an event dedicated to awarding accolades to other industry professionals.

Here are the best hospitality awards for your hands-on reference:

Best Hospitality Awards

International Hotel Awards 

These are prestigious hospitality awards dedicated to identify and highlight excellence in the hotel industry.

It is one of the most recognised establishment for 5-Star Hotel ratings.

These awards have recognised and awarded hoteliers and Top Hospitality Companies from over two decades through its 17 categories.

A lot of prestigious awards come under the International Hotel Awards umbrella. These include but are not limited to:

  • 5 Star Small Luxury Hotel Award (under 50 rooms)
  • 5 Star Luxury Hotel Award (Over 50 rooms)
  • Best Airport Hotel
  • Best Convention Hotel
  • Best Sustainable Hotels
  • Best Hotel Group Website
  • Best Hotel Website
  • Daily Mail UK Property Awards – Launched in 2005
  • CNBC Arabia Arabian Properties Awards- Started in the year 2006

and various other extremely popular hospitality award categories.

Hotels can register on the official website for contention.

All Hotels strive to get into the ivy league of top hotels by getting recognition from International Hotel awards.

The Caterer and hotelkeeper awards 

This is one of the most prestigious sets of hospitality awards. Popularly known as the Cateys, this is as prestigious as it can get in the hospitality industry.

The awards this year is due on Tuesday, the 7th September 2021 at the Grosvenor House by JW Marriott’s in London, UK. So, Cateys awards return after it had to be cancelled in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

These awards are also commonly known as the Catey Awards and are held each year in the UK for top players in the hospitality industry.

These hospitality awards include a unique mix of people, businesses and places.

These set of hospitality awards was started in 1984 and have become one of the most prestigious ones ever since.

The Catey awards welcome thousands of applications from hotels and businesses in the hospitality industry, with the event sometimes being categorised as one of the biggest and most prestigious awards for hotelkeepers.

The recipients of the Catey are typically nominated and selected by a magazine of the same name.

One of the most prestigious categories is the Chef’s award that has been enjoyed by the likes of Gordon Ramsey and Raymond Blanc.

The Gold List by Conde Nast Traveler 

This is probably the Oscars for the Hotel industry. Dedicated to the travel and tourism industry, these awards are dedicated to class and uniqueness.

The Gold List is released each year by the Conde Nast Traveller.

It features the most unique hotels in the world, where visitors can enjoy unique experiences and adventures.

The list, which features the editor’s top picks of their favourite establishments spans six continents and features hotels from over 45 countries.

The list not only categorises the best hotels, but it also gives readers and audiences recommendations regarding which hotels and cruise lines to invest in that are worth the money.

The worldwide awards – Hospitality Industry

These awards are offered to the international hotel industries that demonstrate and showcase original initiatives and thriving innovations.

May it be the best hotelier, Most innovative Hotel concepts in the world, Best Employee, The Wow factor or other features that make the hospitality industry special.

The candidates considered for the award must demonstrate their constant evolution in the industry.

More than 150 applicants apply each year.

The awards are an excellent representation of the hospitality industry’s diversity internationally.

These events are organised and conducted every year by Hospitality-ON which is a reputed hospitality firm. This award is being popularised through Hospitality-ON website and magazine and garners global hospitality attention every year.

The CHTP of the year 

This unique hospitality award is given by the Hospitality Financial and Technical Professionals.

It gives the award to the best CHTP or Certified Hospitality Technology Professional recipient.

Each year, a group of experts analyse and awards honours to the person that scored the highest in the CHTP certification given in that year.

Best Hospitality Awards 1

Restaurant and Bar Design Awards

This award recognises the creativity displayed by Restaurants and Bars in terms of design.

Ever since its inception in 2008 in the UK, Marco Rebora has ensured that this independent annual hospitality award grows from strengths to strength.

Pub Design Award is a similar award that was established in 1983 and is given annually.


This was a quick list of the top hospitality awards. If you are from the hotel industry or from other industries of the hospitality sector, these might be of great interest to you.

There are a lot of hospitality certificates for individual hospitality professionals which are no less than awards.

Aim high and apply for consideration to these awards.

And, please don’t forget to flaunt your awards by adding them to your LinkedIn profile.